Opening Hours

Today: Closed
Tomorrow: 11:30am–5:30pm

Full opening hours


Royal Hospital Kilmainham
Dublin 8, D08 FW31, Ireland
Phone +353 1 6129900

View Map

Find us by

Residency ProgrammeResidents

IMMA's residency provides opportunities for national and international artists, curators, critical writers and art professionals to research and develop their practices onsite at the Museum.



IMMA Residencies vary in time from a few days or months, to an entire year.  As a result our resident artists are regularly changing. Explore the work of current resident’s below, and visit our Artist A-Z Directory to get a more complete list of past residents at IMMA.

Current IMMA Residents


STASIS April 2019

STASIS is comprised of artists Aniela Piasecka, Paloma Proudfoot, Olivia Norris and Isabel Palmstierna. Together, over the past five years, Stasis have created a collaboration to explore and present their understandings and experiences of femininity. View Artist »

Katie Watchorn Apr - Sept 2019

Drawing on her upbringing, Katie Watchorn’s practice primarily deals with illuminating the nuances and materiality of Irish rural farming, highlighting the process of contemporary and ancestral Irish life and tradition which is often understated and overlooked. View Artist »

Suzanne O'Haire Apr - Aug 2019

Suzanne O’Haire makes small sculptural assemblages from found objects, junk and castings from discarded packaging. Arrangements of acrobatically stacked, bundled or tentatively balanced forms emerge from impermanent matter, reactivated through re-configuring and assimilating until something holds, suggesting architectural playgrounds, utopian visions or magical portals to another world. View Artist »

Dan Adler April 2019

Dan Adler is Associate Professor in the Department of Visual Arts & Art History at York University in Toronto and is the IMMA / MA Art in the Contemporary World at the National College of Art and Design fellowship recipient for 2019. Adler’s areas of research incorporate the history of art writing, modern and contemporary sculpture, German modernism, and the development and reception of the conceptual art movement. View Artist »

Fiona Whelan Mar - Jun 2019

Fiona Whelan's collaborative art practice explores and responds to systemic inequality at a personal, community and societal level. Staged in community sites and contemporary art venues, public manifestations expose, challenge and reconfigure power relations through co-production to create another form of relational power through collaboration. View Artist »

Margaret Corcoran Mar - Apr 2019

Painter Margaret Corcoran pushes the boundaries between past, present, personal and historical narratives. Her new series of works explore where identity and nationality are addressed against a backdrop of Colonialism and the great beauty and complexities of European Art. Corcoran is on a Production Residency nominated by the Kevin Kavanagh Gallery. View Artist »

Past IMMA Residents

The IMMA residency programme dates back to 1995. Our Artist Directory includes residency artists from 2004 to the present day.  We are working to add the entire archive to the Directory, but in the interim you can view a list of residents from 1995 – 2004 below.


Residents 1995–2004

h4.atoz a {border-bottom:none !important; opacity:1 !important; color: black !important; letter-spacing: 4px;}
h4.atoz a:hover {border-bottom:none !important; opacity:0.5 !important;}
h4.atoz a:hover:after {display:none !important}
h4.atoz a:hover:hover:after {display:none !important}



Resident Artist
Achimescu Bogdan
Pauline Agnew
John Ahearn
Sinéad Aldridge
Tim Allen
Edward Allington
Nicola Atkinson-Griffith
Gabriel Baggio
Matthew Bakkom
Marie Barrett
Luz Maria Bedoya
Lorna Bieber
Richard Billingham
Paul Bradley
Myron Brody
Lorraine Burrell
Gerard Byrne
Clayton Campbell
Catalyst Arts
Daniel de Chenu
James Chinneck
Declan Clarke
Gabriel Clark-Brown
Oliver Comerford
David Connearn
Coracle Press
Margaret Corcoran
Maud Cotter
Gary Coyle
Cora Cummins
Maureen Cummins
Heather Deedman
Katy Deepwell
Chris Drury
Françoise Dupré
Jimmie Durham
Graham Ellard and Stephen Johnstone
Janieta Eyre
Colin Finley
Peter Fitzgerald
Mike Fitzpatrick
Dettie Flynn
David Fox
Taipéis Gael
Laura Gannonl
Javier de la Garza
Kendell Geers
Denis Gillingwater
Eric Glavin
Aimee Good
Frances Goodman
Hagar Goren
John Graham
Peter Haining
James Hanley
Catherine Harper
Geka Heinke
Anna Hill
Jenny Jaramilo
Jenny Jaramilo
Yu Hirai
Alan Howley
Kristina Huxley
Jenny Jaramilo
Lyndal Jefferies
Sandra Johnston
Rita Jokiranta
Paddy Jolley
Joan Jonas
Finola Jones
Yoshiko Kanai
Alexandra Karrasch
Vineta Kaulaca
Alan Keane
Una Keeley
Ted Kirby
Beat Klein & Hendrikje Kühne
Reinhard Kühl
Marcia Kure
Slavek Kwi
Clare Langan
John Langan
Rona Lee
Róisín Lewis
Frank Lüsing
Susan MacWilliam
Alice Maher
Katarina Matiasek
Charles Matson Lume
Caroline McCarthy
Mairéad McClean
Ronan McCrea
Patricia McKenna
Mark McLoughlin
Amalia Mesa-Bains
Janet Mullarney
Ailbhe Murphy
Padraig Murphy
Julie Murray
John Newling
John Newman
Abigail O’Brien
Ciarán O’Cearnaigh
Tina O’Connell
Hughie O’Donoghue
Gavin O’Curry
Ciaran O’Keeffe
Peter O’Kennedy
Paul O’Neill
Geraldine O’Reilly
Daniel Olson
Mark Orange
Kate Orchard
Susan Otto
Jonathon Owen
Marsha Pels
Lyndall Phelps
Richard Powell
Matilda Pye
Billy Quinn
Mahbubur Rahman
Sue Rees
Marc Reilly
Heli Rekula
Liam Rimmer
Almha Roche
Vivienne Roche
Rochelle Rubinstein Kapla
Brian Rutenberg
Mara Adamitz Scrupe
Paul Seawright
Lindsay Seers
Sophia Shamim
Desmond Short
Theo Sims
Cindy Smith
Sanjeev Sompimpare
Hannah Starkey
Daniela Steinfeld
Shane Synnott
Karen Tam
Thorbjorg Thorvaldsdottir
Christian Tomaszewski
David Trullo
Unspoken Truths
Dimitri Tsykalov
Donald Urquhart
Micaela de Vivero
Louise Walsh
Mary Ruth Walsh
Martin Wedge
Peter Welz
Li Xiaoke (China Ireland Cultural Exchange)
Yan Zhenduo (China Ireland Cultural Exchange)
Wang Zhiyuan
Carl Zimmerman

Join the Mailing List

Subscribe to the IMMA Mailing List below and select Artist Residency Programme to receive direct notifications about forthcoming residency opportunities and activities direct to your inbox.